Speaking up on your behalf!

The 17 Autonomous communities within Spain consist of their provinces and at a local level their municipalities which are the basic level of Spanish local government. There are a total of 8,112 municipalities in Spain, including the autonomous cities of Ceuta and Melilla.

In general, municipalities enjoy a large degree of autonomy in their local affairs. Each municipality is a corporation with independent legal personality: its governing body is called the ayuntamiento (municipal council or corporation), a term which is often also used to refer to the municipal offices (city and town halls). The ayuntamiento is composed of the mayor (Spanish: alcalde), the deputy mayors (Spanish: tenientes de alcalde) and the plenary assembly (pleno) of councillors (concejales). The mayor and the deputy mayors are elected by the plenary assembly, which is itself elected by universal suffrage on a list system every four years.

Although the AC’s stipulate the general governance of the community there are invariably local variations as to how your local town hall is managed.

Poveda Vicedo has dealt with many issues with town halls such as

  • Problems with rates,
  • Lack of services,
  • Maladministration,
  • Urban planning issues